Nyse: bbx

John E. Abdo

Vice Chairman, BBX Capital, Inc.

Mr. John E. Abdo serves as Vice Chairman of BBX Capital, Inc.  He also serves as Vice Chairman of  Bluegreen Vacations Holding Corporation and of Bluegreen Vacations Corporation.

Mr. Abdo is also President of Abdo Companies, a construction, development and property management firm continuously building in Florida since 1967. He formerly served as Vice Chairman of both Benihana, Inc. (formerly listed on NASDAQ: BNHN) and Woodbridge Holdings Corporation (formerly NYSE: WDG).

Through his executive roles with several publicly traded companies and his own business, Mr. Abdo has spearheaded real estate acquisitions, development and construction ventures totaling more than $10 billion. His company has built more than 5,500 residences throughout South Florida, which for a time made it the largest residential builder in Florida’s Broward County. Other notable successes include the acquisition and development of Cypress Creek Station, Center Port and a major twin-tower condominium project with 350 units in downtown Fort Lauderdale. Mr. Abdo has significant private investment experience, having managed or played an integral role in transactions totaling more than $5 billion over the course of his career.

Mr. Abdo is a member of the Board of Directors and the Finance Committee of the Broward Performing Arts Center Authority (PACA).  He is also a member of the Board of Directors of the Broward Performing Arts Foundation and was its President for over 20 years.  Mr. Abdo serves on the board of the BBX Capital Foundation, which has contributed over $15 million to the South Florida community. He is inducted in Nova Southeastern University’s Huizenga School of Business Entrepreneur Hall of Fame and has received the Spirit of 100 Award from the Broward Economic Development Council. Mr. Abdo was appointed to and served on the South Florida Super Bowl XXIX Host Committee in 1993.